Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Nvidia graphics parameters incorrect

  1. #1
    AKA S1l3nt Dan1 danroyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3,665
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 463 Times in 314 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Nvidia graphics parameters incorrect

    Ha anyone seen or heard of this issue a friend is getting it on his windows xp pc his gtx770 uninstalled and now tries to install driver and it fails with that error

    checked his setupapi logs and it says
    error 1450 insufficient system resources exist to complete the requested service
    then class installer failed error 87 the parameter is incorrect

    system is msi z77a gd65
    4gb ram
    windows xp
    gtx 770

    primarily used for fs2004 hence running xp still

    hAve tried display driver uninstaller and fresh install of drivers but still same issue
    Last edited by danroyle; 09-05-17 at 14:43.
    My RIG: MSI GE62 2QD Apache I7 4720HQ, 8GB DDR3, 128GB SDD + 1TB HDD, GTX 960M 2GB, Windows 10, 15.6" IPS screen.

  2. #2
    Dipsomaniac BUDFORCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cambridgeshire Fens
    Posts
    3,440
    Thanks
    332
    Thanked 505 Times in 392 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Tried an older driver version?
    GIVE PEAS A CHANCE

  3. #3
    AKA S1l3nt Dan1 danroyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3,665
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 463 Times in 314 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Tried about 7 different drivers. No luck tried re doing permissions in registry. Even spoke to nvidia they had no clue
    My RIG: MSI GE62 2QD Apache I7 4720HQ, 8GB DDR3, 128GB SDD + 1TB HDD, GTX 960M 2GB, Windows 10, 15.6" IPS screen.

  4. #4
    Moonchester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    East Manchester
    Posts
    2,268
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 361 Times in 277 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    what is a 770 doing on an XP system that has been dead for years?? surely this is the root of the problem?
    if running old flight sim maybe use older tech for just that on a separate rig?

  5. #5
    Ageing hack michaelkenward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    6,169
    Thanks
    153
    Thanked 766 Times in 626 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danroyle View Post
    Tried about 7 different drivers.
    Probably too young. You'll need something from the 20th century to suit XP.

    Under no circumstances should that machine go anywhere near the Internet.
    Win 10 Pro 64-bit + Asus Z-170-K + Intel i5-6500 + 512GB Samsung M.2 PCI-e SSD + 16GB DDR4 2400MHz Memory
    Win 10 Pro 64-bit + Asus M5A88-M EVO + AMD Phenom II X6 + 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600 + Radeon HD 6450
    Win 10 Home 32-bit + Asus M2N-SLI DeLuxe + AMD Athlon 64 X2, Dual Core 5400 + 4.0 GB Memory + NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT

  6. #6
    Insomniac extraordinaire Bing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 110 Times in 92 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Insufficient system resources normally refers to RAM or lack thereof.. and looking at his spec, it certainly sounds like 4GB of RAM isn't enough any more.


  7. #7
    AKA S1l3nt Dan1 danroyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3,665
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 463 Times in 314 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moonchester View Post
    what is a 770 doing on an XP system that has been dead for years?? surely this is the root of the problem?
    if running old flight sim maybe use older tech for just that on a separate rig?
    i guess your not into flight sims some of the mods can cripple the best of cards. He uses xp as its the most stable platform his particular sim works on. And this system has been running flawlessly for around 4 years

    Quote Originally Posted by Bing View Post
    Insufficient system resources normally refers to RAM or lack thereof.. and looking at his spec, it certainly sounds like 4GB of RAM isn't enough any more.
    4gb of ram is 1gb more than a 32 bit windows xp machine can use. Is definitely not an issue with the specs. He has two partitions one for testing new additions to his game then one for using them on it's the main partition that has gone awry. The test partition works flawlessly with no issues but there is around 100gb of mods and additions that needed to be added into that partition to get his game as was. I ended up just turning the backup into his main drive and making a fresh backup in case it happens again
    My RIG: MSI GE62 2QD Apache I7 4720HQ, 8GB DDR3, 128GB SDD + 1TB HDD, GTX 960M 2GB, Windows 10, 15.6" IPS screen.

  8. #8
    Insomniac extraordinaire Bing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 110 Times in 92 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    You didn't state it was 32bit in the OP


  9. #9
    AKA S1l3nt Dan1 danroyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3,665
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 463 Times in 314 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bing View Post
    You didn't state it was 32bit in the OP
    It's windows xp, it only came in 64 bit in the professional version and very few of us used that version
    My RIG: MSI GE62 2QD Apache I7 4720HQ, 8GB DDR3, 128GB SDD + 1TB HDD, GTX 960M 2GB, Windows 10, 15.6" IPS screen.

  10. #10
    Insomniac extraordinaire Bing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 110 Times in 92 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Quite aware it's Windows XP.... but at the end of the day, it did come in both x64 and x32 flavours, so would have been beneficial to include that info.

    I must have been one of the few then mate....
    Last edited by Bing; 11-05-17 at 11:19.


  11. #11
    Moonchester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    East Manchester
    Posts
    2,268
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 361 Times in 277 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    I'd have thought windows 7 would be most stable? or just jump on 10 ) XP is just too old these days

  12. #12
    AKA S1l3nt Dan1 danroyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    3,665
    Thanks
    274
    Thanked 463 Times in 314 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Moonchester View Post
    I'd have thought windows 7 would be most stable? or just jump on 10 ) XP is just too old these days
    the sim he uses doesn't work on windows 10 or 8 and was terrible performance wise on 7 as well. theres a small community of enthusiasts that all swear by windows xp for flight sims pre FSX

    Quote Originally Posted by Bing View Post
    Quite aware it's Windows XP.... but at the end of the day, it did come in both x64 and x32 flavours, so would have been beneficial to include that info.

    I must have been one of the few then mate....
    windows xp only came in 32 bit (other than the itanium processor version which was not commonly available)
    windows xp pro did come in 32/64 bit but the 64 bit came out a full four years after the original windows xp.

    Im sorry if I was unclear on the os but felt that most people were aware that there wasn't a 64 bit of the normal xp

    anyway problem all sorted now found one registry entry that Hadn't removed and got rid and now it's ok but he's using his backup as it's faster and less clogged up
    My RIG: MSI GE62 2QD Apache I7 4720HQ, 8GB DDR3, 128GB SDD + 1TB HDD, GTX 960M 2GB, Windows 10, 15.6" IPS screen.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Watch Game of Thrones Online Game of Thrones S07E01 Streaming GoT Season 7 Streaming Game of Thrones Season 7 Stream game of thrones season 7 episode 1 stream got season 7 streaming game of thrones episodes download game of thrones season 7 spoilers game of thrones season 7 predictions viral viral news viral stories viral news today usa news usa news today dog meat ban yulin festival Watch Game of Thrones Online Game of Thrones S07E01 Streaming GoT Season 7 Streaming Game of Thrones Season 7 Stream game of thrones season 7 episode 1 stream got season 7 streaming game of thrones episodes download