Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Is this a monitor or GPU fault?

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    1

    Default Is this a monitor or GPU fault?

    Hi guys,

    I've posted on here as my monitor, an Acer X34 was bought from Aria and I have a fault but I'm unsure if it is due to the monitor (by Acer, that wouldn't be a surprise) or if its my GPU, a 1080TI bought direct from Nvidia.

    Here is a video of what happens.

    https://youtu.be/q6AKX9JdoWk

    Its a consistant fault that happens nearly every time you power up after a 30 min+ break.

    I've reloaded my gpu drivers and tried a different cable and different display port socket on the gpu but these made no difference.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Moderator BigIan88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    21,810
    Thanks
    1,387
    Thanked 3,545 Times in 2,359 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    Looks like a GPU/GPU memory fault to me.

    Usually artifacts like that come up when the memory is overclocked too far or on its way out. If you have MSI afterburner (or something similar) installed, try down clocking the memory 100mhz and see if it still does it. If it does, run a HDMI cable to your TV and see if it still happens on your TV, if it does - its RMA time for your GPU buddy.
    i7 3770k - MSI Z77 Mpower - 16GB Avexir Mpower 2400Mhz - 500GB Samsung 840 EVO - EVGA GTX 980 SC - 1200W CM Gold - Custom Watercooling Loop - Corsair Air 540 - Steelseries 6Gv2 - Logitech MX 518 - Asus PB287Q - Creative T20





  3. #3
    Dipsomaniac BUDFORCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cambridgeshire Fens
    Posts
    3,343
    Thanks
    317
    Thanked 483 Times in 375 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Yea looks like GPU to me also.
    If you really really really really love me. You'd never make me hang out with your family. Your mum sucks and your dad really hates me. When I try to borrow money he berates me. Somehow he thinks that I'm too old for you, 'cause you're nineteen and I'm fifty two.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    25,364
    Thanks
    7,329
    Thanked 2,930 Times in 2,312 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    i would guess vram, try down clocking (like ian said) them both tbh to see if you can trigger it.
    "Those able to see beyond the shadows and lies of their culture will never be understood, let alone believed, by the masses."
    Plato

  5. #5
    Alfizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kent, uk
    Posts
    1,300
    Thanks
    775
    Thanked 247 Times in 190 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default

    It's the newest drivers.

    Mine did the same.

    Download the beta drivers and it will fix the issue

    Link to drivers:



    http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/4453

    I know it says booting to black screen on notebooks, but it cured the same issue you are having for me.
    Last edited by luke22; 4 Weeks Ago at 01:12.


  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Alfizzle For This Useful Post:


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •