Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: best ram

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default best ram

    what is the best ram i can get for my 990fxa-ud3 motherboard ? got two vengeance 2 x 4 gb ddr3. would it be worth upgrading too 16 gb or 32 gb ram? my system is a 64bit

  2. #2
    Dipsomaniac BUDFORCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cambridgeshire Fens
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks
    312
    Thanked 480 Times in 372 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Do you know what speed and voltage your current RAM is?

    Say 1600mhz 1.5v for example?

    I would probably buy 2 more of the same (or same spec) and double up so you have 16GB in total, all 4 RAM slots used up.
    If you really really really really love me. You'd never make me hang out with your family. Your mum sucks and your dad really hates me. When I try to borrow money he berates me. Somehow he thinks that I'm too old for you, 'cause you're nineteen and I'm fifty two.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    25,350
    Thanks
    7,312
    Thanked 2,928 Times in 2,310 Posts
    Rep Power
    15

    Default

    amd do best with low latency ram.

    as for how much you need it depends on what you do. for gaming you want more that double your gpu has

    2x4 or 2x8 is around the sweet spot today but what's best for you boils down to what is best for your needs

    ddr3 is in decline as demand falls off, so getting good sticks is not as easy

    i think others are better suited to say where the sweet spot is for amd ram speeds. i don't know, sorry.
    "Those able to see beyond the shadows and lies of their culture will never be understood, let alone believed, by the masses."
    Plato

  4. #4
    Forgetful much~? FunkY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Surrounded by trees...
    Posts
    5,622
    Thanks
    1,062
    Thanked 1,019 Times in 792 Posts
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    I'm running this on my Gigabyte 990fxa ud3. Works, lifetime warranty... Can't fault it. Leaves room for another 16gb if you find you need to upgrade to 32 at some point in the future, whereas 4gb sticks would tie you to 16gb max.
    Last edited by FunkY; 20-03-17 at 22:02.
    Facts are meaningless. You could use facts to prove anything that's even remotely true - HS.

  5. #5
    SCARY !!! I3R0K3N7FEET's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    8,952
    Thanks
    2,366
    Thanked 1,100 Times in 792 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    I'm not kidding when I say that this is the best RAM.

  6. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to I3R0K3N7FEET For This Useful Post:


  7. #6
    Insomniac extraordinaire Bing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Lincoln
    Posts
    659
    Thanks
    96
    Thanked 108 Times in 90 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    I seem to recall Linus did a 3-way test on RAM and it's effect on gaming performance. 8, 16 & 32GB sets were used and the sweet spot was 16GB. It offered the same performance as 32GB in every game, losing out slightly in video/picture rendering tests (to be expected) but the 8GB kit was consistently performing ~5% slower in every test, clearly being maxed out. The speed of the RAM had much less impact than total capacity.

    I know RAM price is up a little at the moment, but I'd rather go for a 2x8GB kit of slower RAM than a 2x4GB kit of faster stuff.


  8. #7
    Dipsomaniac BUDFORCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cambridgeshire Fens
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks
    312
    Thanked 480 Times in 372 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    That why i said just double up on what he's already got, seems the most economical option.
    If you really really really really love me. You'd never make me hang out with your family. Your mum sucks and your dad really hates me. When I try to borrow money he berates me. Somehow he thinks that I'm too old for you, 'cause you're nineteen and I'm fifty two.

  9. #8
    Ageing hack michaelkenward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    6,112
    Thanks
    145
    Thanked 762 Times in 622 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BUDFORCE View Post
    That why i said just double up on what he's already got, seems the most economical option.
    Best answer. I just did that.

    I even managed to track down exactly the same part numbers for another 8GB (2X4GB) of Corsair DRAM.

    Puzzlingly, though, what turned up was not the same as I had installed. Same specs, but didn't look the same. Works OK though.

    Paid 62.49 (+ VAT) in 2011, 48.50 (+ VAT) this time around.
    Win 10 Pro 64-bit + Asus Z-170-K + Intel i5-6500 + 512GB Samsung M.2 PCI-e SSD + 16GB DDR4 2400MHz Memory
    Win 10 Pro 64-bit + Asus M5A88-M EVO + AMD Phenom II X6 + 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600 + Radeon HD 6450
    Win 10 Home 32-bit + Asus M2N-SLI DeLuxe + AMD Athlon 64 X2, Dual Core 5400 + 4.0 GB Memory + NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •