Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: What does my BSOD mean?

  1. #1
    The cake is a lie! BUDFORCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cambridgeshire Fens
    Posts
    1,672
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked 203 Times in 152 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default What does my BSOD mean?



    Happened while overclocking GPU, pushing it too much slightly?
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8 GHz | 16GB Mushkin Blackline (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 1.35v| Sapphire Radeon 6950 x 2 (Dual Fan Edition, 2x2GB) 890/1350MHz | Corsair HX850 | MSI-P67A-GD65 | Mushkin Chronos SSD 240GB/Seagate Barracuda 2TB | CM690-II Modded Case | Dell U2711 27" IPS Monitor | Windows 7 | 3DMark11: 10,540 http://forums.aria.co.uk/showthread....-heavy-warning

  2. #2
    spleenharvester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Midlands
    Posts
    2,563
    Thanks
    740
    Thanked 222 Times in 180 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default

    I'd say it means you should probably stop overclocking it.

    0x124s happen often if clockspeed is too high, temps are too high, or voltages are too low.
    Dell E5500 | Intel Core 2 Duo P8700 2.53GHz | 4GB RAM | GMA4500MHD | GS45 | Crucial M4 64GB | Windows 7 Home

  3. #3
    Alfizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kent, uk
    Posts
    781
    Thanks
    538
    Thanked 111 Times in 89 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    124 is usually to low/high vcore or qpi if your on Intel, don't know what it means on AMD, take a look here this is very handy

    http://www.overclock.net/t/935829/th...bsod-code-list
    Last edited by Alfizzle; 06-05-12 at 20:46.

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Alfizzle For This Useful Post:


  5. #4
    Windows 7 was my idea :) slater's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    792
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 58 Times in 56 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alfizzle View Post
    124 is usually to low/high vcore or qpi if your on Intel, don't know what it means on AMD, take a look here this is very handy

    http://www.overclock.net/t/935829/th...bsod-code-list
    I've had a couple of the exact blue screens today when I was overclocking my cpu. For me it was voltage too low.



  6. #5
    benzeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kent, UK
    Posts
    2,289
    Thanks
    252
    Thanked 174 Times in 159 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Up your volts a little mate
    PC: Intel Core i5 3570k @ 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte GA-Z77N-WIFI, 2 x 4 GB Corsair XMS3 1333MHz, XFX 7870 LE.
    Laptop: Lenovo ThinkPad X220 - IntelCore i5 2520M @ 2.5Ghz, 4GB RAM

  7. #6
    The cake is a lie! BUDFORCE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Cambridgeshire Fens
    Posts
    1,672
    Thanks
    143
    Thanked 203 Times in 152 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Cool thanks for replies, I am hoping that BSOD relates to my GPU and NOT my CPU.

    Time will tell I suppose.

    EDIT Bah just got a 101 now also, after only 5 minutes of MS flight. Gonna run with no OC on my GPU's for a while and see if I still get one.
    Last edited by BUDFORCE; 07-05-12 at 08:10.
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.8 GHz | 16GB Mushkin Blackline (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 1.35v| Sapphire Radeon 6950 x 2 (Dual Fan Edition, 2x2GB) 890/1350MHz | Corsair HX850 | MSI-P67A-GD65 | Mushkin Chronos SSD 240GB/Seagate Barracuda 2TB | CM690-II Modded Case | Dell U2711 27" IPS Monitor | Windows 7 | 3DMark11: 10,540 http://forums.aria.co.uk/showthread....-heavy-warning

  8. #7

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    BSOD would be more likely related to CPU, or am I wide of the mark here? IN my experience GPU errors of this ilk result in artifacts, hang ups and restarts but generally not BSOD?

  9. #8
    Table Tennis Master. ChrisGlobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    6,642
    Thanks
    1,689
    Thanked 1,208 Times in 874 Posts
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Blue Screens can be caused by anything really! CPU, RAM, GPU (VRAM or other), HDDs, PCI-E cards, etc., etc.
    Corsair 600T | Asus Sabertooth Z77 ATX | Intel i5-3570k | Corsair H100i | Corsair Vengeance LP Black 16GB | EVGA GTX670 2GB | PNY GTS250 512MB | Mushkin Chronos 240GB

    Quote Originally Posted by Prattman View Post
    Cannot find that 6300 hex core. Can find it at a 6 core.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •