Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: VGA card for laptop

  1. #1
    jaff90110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default VGA card for laptop

    I got acer aspire 5920G laptop, Had a problem which is can't see anything come on the screen. Just wonder is this could be a problem with the VGA card or not? if it was is thhis can be replace?

  2. #2
    El Wayneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    22,581
    Thanks
    1,240
    Thanked 2,953 Times in 2,071 Posts
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    could be the screen inverter has come lose or the lighting has died, try an external monitor and google the hot keys for which operating system to see which it is that will make it output onto the external screen, then you'll know if its the VGA card or not.

    what model card is it?

    Freedom isn't free"




  3. #3
    jaff90110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by El Wayneo View Post
    could be the screen inverter has come lose or the lighting has died, try an external monitor and google the hot keys for which operating system to see which it is that will make it output onto the external screen, then you'll know if its the VGA card or not.

    what model card is it?
    Thank you for your answer.
    I tried with the external monitor and nothing come up either. But it come up on the laptop screen on and off after 30 secs nothing any more but I can see laptop it try to boot into windows from the HDD light blinking.
    The card is Nvidia 8400 something . CAn it be replace by myself?

    Just another question is this laptop has VGA built in onboard?

  4. #4
    El Wayneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    22,581
    Thanks
    1,240
    Thanked 2,953 Times in 2,071 Posts
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    If you can get another one then yeah its replaceable but you need to find out the BIOS version as there were a few different ones.

    It might still be the screen inverter though.

    Freedom isn't free"




  5. #5
    jaff90110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    That 's funny I have this thread in the other forum and they said this laptop has VGA built in which is not replaceable. I told them
    I got a VGA card in but they said I can't replace on my own need an expert do it.
    By the way the screen inverter is a whole thing in the screen? or it just a little part of the screen?

  6. #6
    El Wayneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    22,581
    Thanks
    1,240
    Thanked 2,953 Times in 2,071 Posts
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    the 8400M is an actual card that slots in, just like in a PC, so yeah its replaceable.

    The inverter is just a thin strip of PCB normally at the base of the screen.

    Freedom isn't free"




  7. The Following User Says Thank You to El Wayneo For This Useful Post:


  8. #7
    Twerkmaster Scrivs!! scrivz69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    York
    Posts
    8,783
    Thanks
    887
    Thanked 1,735 Times in 1,275 Posts
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    http://www.laptop-part.co.uk/acer-as...-inverter.html

    Easy enough to change as wayneo has said if the screen is not illuminating it could be the inverter, its strange it wont display to an external monitor.

    Asrock P67 Extreme 6. 3570k. @10GHz + VAT.8GB Geil black dragons.Coolermaster 412s. EVGA GTX 770 Superclocked.Samsung 840 250GB SSD. OCZ Vertex plus 120GB.WD 500 GB Blue. XFX 650w XXX Psu. Creative gigaworks T20 series 2 speakers. Asus DX 7.1. Fractal R2 XL case. Samsung SM-2433BW 24" Monitor. Cyborg V7. TT Theron mouse.

  9. #8
    jaff90110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Is it really difficult to replace it ? trying to do I.T.Y by myself for an experience.

  10. #9
    jaff90110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    http://www.laptop-part.co.uk/acer-as...-inverter.html

    Easy enough to change as wayneo has said if the screen is not illuminating it could be the inverter, its strange it wont display to an external monitor.
    Thank you for the link.
    Yeah I know if it show up on the external screen I would say it's laptop screen problem. But I would try with the HDMI port tonight, Do you think will it make any different?

  11. #10
    Twerkmaster Scrivs!! scrivz69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    York
    Posts
    8,783
    Thanks
    887
    Thanked 1,735 Times in 1,275 Posts
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    Loads of videos on youtube mate, they are usually located at the bottom of the screen between the hinges.

    Or you could try the oven trick. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDXGouSv_X8 but I would only do that as a last resort.

    Edit. I did mine, which is still fine. As you can see my display was fine, just the card going faulty.

    http://forums.aria.co.uk/showthread....-GTX?highlight=
    Last edited by scrivz69; 27-04-12 at 14:07.

    Asrock P67 Extreme 6. 3570k. @10GHz + VAT.8GB Geil black dragons.Coolermaster 412s. EVGA GTX 770 Superclocked.Samsung 840 250GB SSD. OCZ Vertex plus 120GB.WD 500 GB Blue. XFX 650w XXX Psu. Creative gigaworks T20 series 2 speakers. Asus DX 7.1. Fractal R2 XL case. Samsung SM-2433BW 24" Monitor. Cyborg V7. TT Theron mouse.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to scrivz69 For This Useful Post:


  13. #11
    jaff90110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    Loads of videos on youtube mate, they are usually located at the bottom of the screen between the hinges.

    Or you could try the oven trick. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDXGouSv_X8 but I would only do that as a last resort.

    Edit. I did mine, which is still fine. As you can see my display was fine, just the card going faulty.

    http://forums.aria.co.uk/showthread....-GTX?highlight=
    You're a star I will have look at that. Thanks
    Last edited by jaff90110; 27-04-12 at 16:42.

  14. #12
    Twerkmaster Scrivs!! scrivz69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    York
    Posts
    8,783
    Thanks
    887
    Thanked 1,735 Times in 1,275 Posts
    Rep Power
    7

    Default

    No problem, I hope you get it sorted.

    Asrock P67 Extreme 6. 3570k. @10GHz + VAT.8GB Geil black dragons.Coolermaster 412s. EVGA GTX 770 Superclocked.Samsung 840 250GB SSD. OCZ Vertex plus 120GB.WD 500 GB Blue. XFX 650w XXX Psu. Creative gigaworks T20 series 2 speakers. Asus DX 7.1. Fractal R2 XL case. Samsung SM-2433BW 24" Monitor. Cyborg V7. TT Theron mouse.

  15. #13
    jaff90110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Will let you guys know later,

  16. #14
    jaff90110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,347
    Thanks
    83
    Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
    Rep Power
    1

    Default

    Just want to update about my lappy.
    After struggle of finding out what 's wrong with this laptop so I found that 's a VGA card problem. But now I got it work again with that VGA card, Unbelievable I found a vdo on youtube it shows me to fix that card by put a vga card in the oven at 200c what? I thought it was a joke it 's impossible but I think I have nothing to loose so I take a card off on put a foil on the tray and put a little foil by the 4 corners of the card to protect a whole card contact on the foil. Turn the oven on at 200c left it to heat up about 10 mins and put the card left it in about 15 mins. Take it out from the oven leave it cool down about 10 mins. Now it's time to finger cross. Put it back in and can't believe it, it works , it comes on the screen. I don't know how long I could keep this VGA card work , but at lease I know there was something wrong with the VGA card. I have to look another new card as a back up plan just in case if it playing again.

  17. #15
    El Wayneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    22,581
    Thanks
    1,240
    Thanked 2,953 Times in 2,071 Posts
    Rep Power
    13

    Default

    just reflows the solder is all and makes the connections stronger again.


    Good effort there though mate.

    Freedom isn't free"




Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •