Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 680GTX going in...56k warning...if anyone is still dial up !!

  1. #1
    Juan Hunglo joker3327's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    1,334
    Thanked 1,549 Times in 1,240 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default 680GTX going in...56k warning...if anyone is still dial up !!

    Opening up my Gamer

    2 x Asus Direct CU II 580 GTX in SLI.... triple slot cards..



    First one out (note the Xonar with its PCIE x1 extender



    Second out..so thats what the board looks like



    580 GTX next to the 680 GTX no idea why its upside down.....



    680GTX in her new home



    Wire up ready to go...and the Xonar has a home it can fit into finally without a ghetto mod lol...



    All that space.....it looks lonely...might need another one !...
    Quote Originally Posted by heavywater View Post
    not faceplanting a Micra because Barry was hungover when he did up the harness.
    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.
    i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 | Gigabyte TITAN |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | OCZ Vertex 4 512GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Thermaltake T Power 850W | HAF X | 27 inch DGM 2560x1440 IPS

  2. #2
    Buttery Biscuit Base BigIan88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    18,276
    Thanks
    1,013
    Thanked 2,640 Times in 1,737 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Nice card but... OCD Monkey doesnt like exposed cables
    Main: i7 3770k - MSI Z77 Mpower - 12GB Avexir Mpower 2400Mhz - 500GB Samsung 840 EVO - MSI Twin Frozr 290X - 850W XFX Core Pro - Corsair H100 - Corsair Air 540

    Server: FX-6300 - MSI 970A-G43 - 4GB Avexir Mpower 2400Mhz - 250GB Samsung 840 - 1200W CM Gold - 4x 2TB HDD's - Corsair 500R



  3. #3
    Finners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    4,214
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 403 Times in 324 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default

    nice one! why the upgrade? i assume 2 580's are more powerful then a 680 or do you need the vram?, is that how your 680 looked or did you remove the sticker? thought the PNY came with a XLR8 sticker on it
    i7 2600K @ 4.5| Asrock Z68 Extreme4| 16GB 1866Mhz Crucial Ballistix |AMD R9 290| 120GB SSD |Win7 64bit

  4. #4
    Juan Hunglo joker3327's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    1,334
    Thanked 1,549 Times in 1,240 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigian88 View Post
    Nice card but... OCD Monkey doesnt like exposed cables
    Cable braiding is on my to do list !!

    Added after 2 minutes:

    Quote Originally Posted by Finners View Post
    nice one! why the upgrade? i assume 2 580's are more powerful then a 680 or do you need the vram?, is that how your 680 looked or did you remove the sticker? thought the PNY came with a XLR8 sticker on it
    I upgraded mainly due to the fact I was not using the power of the 580's in SLI....and the 680 for some reason did not have a sticker on it just that stuff you get on a new phone.......which I think I actually prefer...!!! ..
    Last edited by joker3327; 13-04-12 at 18:10.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavywater View Post
    not faceplanting a Micra because Barry was hungover when he did up the harness.
    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.
    i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 | Gigabyte TITAN |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | OCZ Vertex 4 512GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Thermaltake T Power 850W | HAF X | 27 inch DGM 2560x1440 IPS

  5. #5
    🎶 🎷🐤 Mokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    4,608
    Thanks
    528
    Thanked 765 Times in 508 Posts
    Rep Power
    3

    Default

    Not sure if they are but whenever I see the triple slot cuII cards they always look like the pcb is bending, I had a big triple slot cooler on my 460 and now on my 560 and have never seen it droop down at all, not sure if the asus pcbs are more flexible than the msi ones or what.

    Edit: Looks like the accelero I have is miles lighter than the cuII, that probably explains it.
    Last edited by Mokey; 13-04-12 at 18:38.


  6. #6
    Juan Hunglo joker3327's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    1,334
    Thanked 1,549 Times in 1,240 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mokey View Post
    Not sure if they are but whenever I see the triple slot cuII cards they always look like the pcb is bending, I had a big triple slot cooler on my 460 and now on my 560 and have never seen it droop down at all, not sure if the asus pcbs are more flexible than the msi ones or what.
    No bend or droop whatsoever....they are not that heavy as cards go...
    Quote Originally Posted by heavywater View Post
    not faceplanting a Micra because Barry was hungover when he did up the harness.
    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.
    i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 | Gigabyte TITAN |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | OCZ Vertex 4 512GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Thermaltake T Power 850W | HAF X | 27 inch DGM 2560x1440 IPS

  7. #7
    Zaim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10,002
    Thanks
    3,780
    Thanked 1,333 Times in 1,011 Posts
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Looks good mate.

    @mokey yeah my 570 does that.
    CPU:Intel I7 3770K 5GHZ |CPU Cooler:Noctua NH D14|RAM:16GB Corsair Vengeance White LP|MB:Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3|GPU:Sapphire Vapor X 7970 GHz|PSU: Corsair AX 750|HDD:2x Corsair 240GB Force GT| 3X WD 2TB Green|Optical Drive: LG CH10LS20|Monitor: BenQ G2222HDL|OS: Windows 7 Pro 64bit|Sound Card:Asus Xonar Phoebus|Speakers:Logitech Z5500/CMStorm Sirus 5.1|Corsair K95/Logi G700s|Case:Corsair 500R|

  8. #8
    Devil's Advocate marsey99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    St Helens
    Posts
    21,121
    Thanks
    3,887
    Thanked 2,210 Times in 1,738 Posts
    Rep Power
    11

    Default

    looking good mate, real question is can it play crysis tho tbh
    we know who we are,
    most successful english football team ever, liverpool fc.
    we know who we are.

  9. #9
    Juan Hunglo joker3327's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    1,334
    Thanked 1,549 Times in 1,240 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post
    looking good mate, real question is can it play crysis tho tbh
    Ha...not played Crysis for ages....time for a reinstall me thinks !!
    Quote Originally Posted by heavywater View Post
    not faceplanting a Micra because Barry was hungover when he did up the harness.
    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.
    i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 | Gigabyte TITAN |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | OCZ Vertex 4 512GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Thermaltake T Power 850W | HAF X | 27 inch DGM 2560x1440 IPS

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to joker3327 For This Useful Post:


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •