Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 680GTX going in...56k warning...if anyone is still dial up !!

  1. #1
    Juan Hunglo joker3327's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    8,466
    Thanks
    1,361
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,284 Posts
    Rep Power
    6

    Default 680GTX going in...56k warning...if anyone is still dial up !!

    Opening up my Gamer

    2 x Asus Direct CU II 580 GTX in SLI.... triple slot cards..



    First one out (note the Xonar with its PCIE x1 extender



    Second out..so thats what the board looks like



    580 GTX next to the 680 GTX no idea why its upside down.....



    680GTX in her new home



    Wire up ready to go...and the Xonar has a home it can fit into finally without a ghetto mod lol...



    All that space.....it looks lonely...might need another one !...
    Quote Originally Posted by heavywater View Post
    not faceplanting a Micra because Barry was hungover when he did up the harness.
    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.
    i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 Copperhead | Gigabyte TITAN |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | OCZ Vertex 4 512GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Thermaltake T Power 850W | HAF X | 27 inch DGM 2560x1440 IPS

  2. #2
    /r/PcMasterRace/ BigIan88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    18,657
    Thanks
    1,039
    Thanked 2,719 Times in 1,778 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Nice card but... OCD Monkey doesnt like exposed cables
    Main: i7 3770k - MSI Z77 Mpower - 16GB Avexir Mpower 2400Mhz - 500GB Samsung 840 EVO - Asus GTX 970 STRIX OC - 1200W Cooler Master Gold - Corsair H100 - Corsair Air 540




  3. #3
    Finners's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Posts
    4,275
    Thanks
    206
    Thanked 411 Times in 332 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default

    nice one! why the upgrade? i assume 2 580's are more powerful then a 680 or do you need the vram?, is that how your 680 looked or did you remove the sticker? thought the PNY came with a XLR8 sticker on it
    i7 2600K @ 4.5| Asrock Z68 Extreme4| 16GB 1866Mhz Crucial Ballistix |AMD R9 290| 120GB SSD |Win7 64bit

  4. #4
    Juan Hunglo joker3327's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    8,466
    Thanks
    1,361
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,284 Posts
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigian88 View Post
    Nice card but... OCD Monkey doesnt like exposed cables
    Cable braiding is on my to do list !!

    Added after 2 minutes:

    Quote Originally Posted by Finners View Post
    nice one! why the upgrade? i assume 2 580's are more powerful then a 680 or do you need the vram?, is that how your 680 looked or did you remove the sticker? thought the PNY came with a XLR8 sticker on it
    I upgraded mainly due to the fact I was not using the power of the 580's in SLI....and the 680 for some reason did not have a sticker on it just that stuff you get on a new phone.......which I think I actually prefer...!!! ..
    Last edited by joker3327; 13-04-12 at 18:10.
    Quote Originally Posted by heavywater View Post
    not faceplanting a Micra because Barry was hungover when he did up the harness.
    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.
    i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 Copperhead | Gigabyte TITAN |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | OCZ Vertex 4 512GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Thermaltake T Power 850W | HAF X | 27 inch DGM 2560x1440 IPS

  5. #5
    🚽 Mokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    sittin on tha toilet
    Posts
    4,658
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 777 Times in 517 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Default

    Not sure if they are but whenever I see the triple slot cuII cards they always look like the pcb is bending, I had a big triple slot cooler on my 460 and now on my 560 and have never seen it droop down at all, not sure if the asus pcbs are more flexible than the msi ones or what.

    Edit: Looks like the accelero I have is miles lighter than the cuII, that probably explains it.
    Last edited by Mokey; 13-04-12 at 18:38.


  6. #6
    Juan Hunglo joker3327's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    8,466
    Thanks
    1,361
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,284 Posts
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mokey View Post
    Not sure if they are but whenever I see the triple slot cuII cards they always look like the pcb is bending, I had a big triple slot cooler on my 460 and now on my 560 and have never seen it droop down at all, not sure if the asus pcbs are more flexible than the msi ones or what.
    No bend or droop whatsoever....they are not that heavy as cards go...
    Quote Originally Posted by heavywater View Post
    not faceplanting a Micra because Barry was hungover when he did up the harness.
    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.
    i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 Copperhead | Gigabyte TITAN |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | OCZ Vertex 4 512GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Thermaltake T Power 850W | HAF X | 27 inch DGM 2560x1440 IPS

  7. #7
    Zaim's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    10,005
    Thanks
    3,782
    Thanked 1,334 Times in 1,012 Posts
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Looks good mate.

    @mokey yeah my 570 does that.
    CPU:Intel I7 3770K 5GHZ |CPU Cooler:Noctua NH D14|RAM:16GB Corsair Vengeance White LP|MB:Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3|GPU:Asus GTX 970 Strix OC|PSU: Corsair AX 750|HDD:2x Corsair 240GB Force GS| 2X WD 2TB Red|Sound Card:Asus Xonar Phoebus|Speakers:Sony STR-DH820+Yamaha Speakers+Tannoy TS2.10|Mouse/Keyboard:Corsair K95/Logi G700s|Case:Corsair 500R|

  8. #8
    Devil's Advocate marsey99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    St Helens
    Posts
    21,581
    Thanks
    4,188
    Thanked 2,261 Times in 1,783 Posts
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    looking good mate, real question is can it play crysis tho tbh
    we know who we are,
    most successful english football team ever, liverpool fc.
    we know who we are.

  9. #9
    Juan Hunglo joker3327's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    8,466
    Thanks
    1,361
    Thanked 1,606 Times in 1,284 Posts
    Rep Power
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marsey99 View Post
    looking good mate, real question is can it play crysis tho tbh
    Ha...not played Crysis for ages....time for a reinstall me thinks !!
    Quote Originally Posted by heavywater View Post
    not faceplanting a Micra because Barry was hungover when he did up the harness.
    Quote Originally Posted by scrivz69 View Post
    I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.
    i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 Copperhead | Gigabyte TITAN |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | OCZ Vertex 4 512GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Thermaltake T Power 850W | HAF X | 27 inch DGM 2560x1440 IPS

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to joker3327 For This Useful Post:


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •