Minecraft on Linux

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Minecraft on Linux

I'm new to Linux and was wondering if It is possible to play minecraft on Linux? I am aware it probably won't play other games without the use of wine, just purely interested in minecraft here

If so, does anyone have a suggestion for a distribution of Linux? Looking to play minecraft as efficiently as possible. Laptop specs are: 1.86ghz pentium dual core, 2gb ram.

Cheers.
    Originally posted by andyn
    Trick in most cases seems to be to get in early, and get out early. Pump and dump.
    PC: - i5-3570k, Mushkin 64gb SSD, 8GB Vengeance, MSI Twin Frozr III 7850.
    Laptop: - Asus N55SF, Core i7-2670QM, GT555M (2GB).

Yes, Minecraft will run on Linux as it's written in Java. Easy peasy (see .jar download here: http://www.minecraft.net/download.jsp)

It's not a particularly graphics-intensive game (lol) so should run OK with your specs, although it might slow down when generating new landscape. Also, depending on your graphics chipset, you might experience slowdowns with a lot of landscape, creatures, objects, etc in view. I know I do on my lappy, which has an 8800M GS.
    Last edited by Ricko97; 16-08-11, 08:58.

Comment

Make sure you install Java 6.

Java 7 has lots of bugs and MineCraft does not seam to like it.

Comment

Ok, I've been running it in vista on the laptop and it's Okay, but suffers from lag spikes, dropping down to 5 fps or so at times.

I've been wanting to play around with Linux as it is, now I have an excuse ;P
        Any suggestions on a distribution? I was just going to go for ubuntu unless you have any better ideas?
        Trick in most cases seems to be to get in early, and get out early. Pump and dump.

Comment

Ubuntu's a good one to get started with
          Why did the chicken cross the road?
          To get away from the Canadian poultry farmer with loose trousers.

Comment