Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

BUDFORCE's not even Ian is Alpha enough to bodge a fix like this.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BUDFORCE's not even Ian is Alpha enough to bodge a fix like this.

It may suprise you after reading this thread that I am not a professional mechanic.

Anyway my sump basin was pretty corroded, so I decided to take action.

Firstly needed a good sanding, so got drill with wire brush attachment.

Although that still ooks pretty bad I've removed all the flakey stuff and most of the major corrosion. Cleaned it up with white spirit.

Then I noticed a very small leak.

I am not sure if it was me sanding off the corrosion but there is actually a little impact crater there, looks like it has taken a whack at some stage rather than rusted through, but the leak so so small, literally jsut weaping through not even enough to drip out.

So, using all of my years of mechanical experience and knowledge, and research, I used a method to fix it, not even a training mechanic would be alpha enough to do.

Thats right, I stuck a patch of tinfoil on with superglue. BOOOM!

I then attacked it with the Hammerite. 5 coats over 15 minutes intervals.

5 layers of hammerite later I let it dry, then a final single coat of VHT black paint I have.

Ghetto or what?
    GIVE PEAS A CHANCE

How long ago was the engine started before doing this job? The oil pressure could have dropped enough for it not to leak if you did just create that hole. Once the engine is started and oil pressure builds back to 4-5 bar on throttle I'm pretty sure it will find its way out. I had a pinhole leak on the filter housing of a mates car on Friday and we didn't even start the engine, just turning it over was enough oil pressure to squirt a cup full of oil across the garage floor.

Originally posted by Aria
    On reflection though, as I am taking a bath, listening to "Rain of blessing-vajra chant" while typing on the iPad

Comment