Possible to paint plastic canoe?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Possible to paint plastic canoe?

So basically purchased the below canoe(kayak?) on Ebay for 32 pretty good condition, gonna use it next year to go around all the salt marshes on the North Norfolk coast.

Anyway, I would like to camo paint it, would look so awesome. Reckon its doable?

Benn looking at plastikote spray's - which are common and relatively cheap, says they will stick to any surface. I have some experience in spraying vehicles and metals, and get pretty good results, but never before attempted something like this.

I was thinking few coats primer, followed by top coats (black/grey/white combo in camo style) then a clear lacquer on top. I think vehicle lacquer would stand up to sea water the best, plus make it more hydrodynamic as it'll be a smoother surface.

Only thing is the plastic is pretty flexible in places, you can literally flex it in and out by pushing on it, I don't know how the paint/lacquer will behave.

On the other side, it is a cheap 32 canoe, so if it doesnt work or the paint flakes off it, I wont be heartbroken.

GIVE PEAS A CHANCE

How about Plastidip..... https://www.plastidip.co.uk/ rubberised paint that you can peel off ... looking into getting my car done at the moment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7J6rRj98A5s
    posted by scrivz69
    I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.​
    i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 Copperhead |2 x Gigabyte TITAN SLI |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | Samsung 850 500GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Corsair RM1000 | HAF X |40 inch Benq 2560x1440 IPS

Comment

Mmmm, looking through their website they do have a primer that claims 400% adhesion, they also do adhesion promoter.

Might be worth putting a coat of two of that adheasion promoter on first, following by primer, followed by finish coat, followed by lacquer.