Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PHOTO EDITING BUILD

Hi

I am new in this forum and dont know how things work exactly,so hopefully this is how it goes.I am a full time photographer,and I am looking for a computer build purely for editing photos.My current set up isnt too bad but at times it does struggle when I try and multitask,and it starts running really loud.I also have a 27" 1920x1080 IPS screen but I cant say I am really happy with it,so I want to upgrade it to 2k or 4k if I can for better colour production.My budget for a PC set up is 400-500 tops ( exluding the screen) I will write down my system specs below,so If I can use any of that,it would be great.Any help is much appreciated,thank you all for your time and help in advance.

Motherboard: GA-78LMT USB3
    Processor: AMD FX 8350 4000mhz
    Graphics Card: AMD radeon 7850
    Ram: 16gb
    Hardrive: 1 x 250gb SSD 2 x 2TB HDD 2048mb GDDR5
    Operating System: Windows 10
    Power Supply: Corsair Cx 430

You have more than enough RAM for the job and I suspect your CPU might be the bottleneck here. When you refer to it being loud, I imagine thats down to your CPU cooler kicking things up a notch to keep it cool as its under a lot of strain from editing. You can reduce the noise by replacing the cooler or the cooler fan (depending on if you're using stock cooling or something better), however its worth bearing in mind that your CPU might be throttling itself if things are getting a little too toasty.

What applications are you using for editing photos? Photoshop? Lightroom? Something else? I edit 24MP RAW on Lightroom on a 4K monitor and even I have to snap LR to half the size to improve performance as applying a preset and even changing to another photo, can be a little sluggish when its full screen - that's on an i7 3770K at 4.8Ghz and 16GB 2400Mhz RAM!