GPU Recomendations

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GPU Recomendations

Looking at getting a new GPU around the 400 mark. I noticed a lot of people round here are talking about ATi stuff. Generally had more success in the past with the green side of the spectrum. But how do they compare nowadays?

Bare in mind I do tend to use Linux a fair bit. All i hear on the web is to avoid ATi if you plan to game on linux. But I have no experience of that. Apparently drivers are just a nightmare.

So. I'm looking at the nvidia 1070 ti, or a standard 1070. But which one?
    Is there much difference between them? Say the Asus Dual 1070 vs a EVGA FTW Gaming.

I prefer the Asus Dual aesthetics as it doesnt have.... RGB... And im not 12. But im not overly bothered as it'll be in a closed in case, no window. I don't want to have to use all the extra **** "Gaming" software or anything daft just cos it has lights on it.

Then we have the ATi side. I literally have no idea whats what. Apart from looking on benchmark sites. I don't know their naming scheme for high mid and low cards. And do I want to shoot myself in the foot again going the ATi route?

So yeah. Suggestions and opinions please.

Thanks all.

Originally posted by Mordynak View Post
    Looking at getting a new GPU around the �400 mark. I noticed a lot of people round here are talking about ATi stuff. Generally had more success in the past with the green side of the spectrum. But how do they compare nowadays?

Bare in mind I do tend to use Linux a fair bit. All i hear on the web is to avoid ATi if you plan to game on linux. But I have no experience of that. Apparently drivers are just a nightmare.

So. I'm looking at the nvidia 1070 ti, or a standard 1070. But which one?
    Is there much difference between them? Say the Asus Dual 1070 vs a EVGA FTW Gaming.