Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• i5 or e3 ?

Hi all

I am new here and would appreciate any suggestions.

I am an engineer who develops image processing/pattern recognition algorithms for large amount of image data. Recently I am upgrading my home desktop and hope that my new home desktop could help me deal with my work even if I am at home.

I am considering i5 4570 or e3 1230 v2, but not yet decide which one to buy. I cannot be sure if it is worth spending 30 more for the e3 or i5 has been fine with my requirement.

I would welcome any of the suggestions on choosing the CPU...

Cheers
    Rick

Depends on the software you use tbh.

If it's single threaded or needs faster cores, then grab a 4570k and overclock it with a Z87 mobo and an aftermarket heatsink.

If the software can use hyper-threading, then grab the e3 and a cheaper H81/H87/B85 mobo that can't overclock and run it at stock speeds. This should be faster than the i5 as the e3 has 4 cores able to run 8 threads. Each core is slower than the i5 though.
    --
    Fractal R4 (shhh!) 3570k, z77x-d3h, 16gb, R9-270X, 240gb SSD, 2tb mirror w/ 60gb cache drive

Comment

Well the e3 1230 is basically an i7 (4 cores but 8 threads compared to the 4 cores 4 threads of the i5) so will be better for heavily multi threaded applications. Whether this is of benefit to you really depends on the software you use.

Comment

Hi Spaceboy

Thank you very much for the reply. I may need to use the parallel computing sometimes but not too much. (I could also connect to the server in the office if needed but would avoid in most cases due to the slow connection speed).

I am not a heavy gamer but may play a bit sometimes in the weekend for fun. May I know if 4570 is faster than e3 1230 v2 if both are running using single thread at stock speeds? Thank you.

Comment

Worth pointing out that the 1230 V2 is an Ivy based chip as opposed to the V3 which is Haswell.

Comment

Originally posted by Terbinator View Post