noisy fan

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• noisy fan

when i first built my PC a few months back it ran nion silently, but last night i was streaming TV (vikings FYI) and the rear fan was noisy where it hadnt been before

it is a stock case fan that i havent tampered with at all

im new to all this, any ideas why its suddenly become noisy?

Cleaned it out recently? It's either full of dust/fluff causing overheating if you've not cleaned it so the fans running faster to compensate, or if you've cleaned it recently then some muck may have got lodged in to the fan... Or the bearings are failing. You can try and clean it and see if that helps, sometimes gently pressing the fan back into the housing helps, but quite often with generic case fans it's put up with the noise or replace the fan time.
    Why did the chicken cross the road?
    To get away from the Canadian poultry farmer with loose trousers.

Comment

i cant imagine it getting dusty as it is at near the top of the back panel of the case

i imagine its just died

ill get shopping

Comment

but that might be my lack of imagination by the way, ive not cleaned it since i built it end of jan

how often should i clean it? are there any other weekly/monthly/etc tasks i should perform to keep it running smooth?

Comment

Who is the case by?..... some stock fans are really low quality lol.... as the Snakemeister points out...replace with some good uns....

https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...6+Cooling/Fans
          posted by scrivz69
          I think I may leave this forum, it seems to be full of the village people.​
          i7 3930K @ 4.2| ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB @ 2133 Copperhead |2 x Gigabyte TITAN SLI |ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | Samsung 850 500GB SSD | 3TB SATA Drive | H100i WC | Corsair RM1000 | HAF X |40 inch Benq 2560x1440 IPS

Comment

zalman R1

i dont think aria stock it anymore

Comment