Cooling Advice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cooling Advice

Hey im currently planning on overclocking my CPU, Graphics card and Memory on the 31st august when the rest of the components arrive.

I will have:-

AMD Athlon 4000+ CPU (939)
    Sapphire Radeon x800 GTO 256mb GDDR3
    1GB DDR 400 Memory

will these 3 cooling components be enough to compensate with the overclocking?

Im new to overclocking and cooling, so just looking to make sure i dont ruin my new computer

Thanks

http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=22081

http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=20728

http://www.aria.co.uk/ProductInfoComm.asp?ID=20207
    Athlon X2 4.6Ghz Dual Core
    2048mb DDR 400 Memory
    BFG Geforce 8800 GTS 640mb @ 625/1000

----------------------------------------------------------------------

imho it all depends on your case and airflow through your case.

Most people suggest you use a \"front to back\" airflow system, draw in cold air through the front and expell it out the back end,

Memory Heat spreaders TEND to do nothing, this isnt always the case but its usually best if the case you have has a fan in it in the side panel, you can normally 'tweak' the position of these by adding a couple of washers under one side so your RAM gets some air time

The heatsink you have chosen looks fine to me (although i dont use AMD so im sure someone else will verify this)

The arctic cooling silence you have looks Alright too - any fan you buy for your graphics card is going to be better than the cheap nasty stuff they put on as standard.

http://www.antec.com/us/info_quiet_computing.html

I know its on quiet computing but im sure it has a few details on cooling optimisation too, Sorry if it doesn't but its worth a peruse anyway